August 13th, 2023

I think it's been a month now since I got access to the community garden. Things are going well!! The plants all seem really happy, other than some pest damage. I didn't have money to buy more of my preferred organic pest spray for a couple weeks, so the okra plant and the Japanese eggplant took some damage.

my poor eggplant got munched by isopods! The irony! I can't be all that angry!this isn't even all the damage, I forgot to take a pic lol. one leaf is pretty much just scaffolding

I brought Sumi with me today, so she got to run around. The ground was also still very moist from all the scattered storms this last week, so I didn't water. I mostly just looked at everything, corrected some falling stakes, and sprayed the pests. Bugs went a-flyin' when I sprayed the okra and the tomatoes especially... so I'm glad I did it finally. The cucumber plants are successfully climbing up the trellis, but I still don't see any cukes. I'm hoping that it stays warm and bright through to October so I'll actually get a harvest. :p We do have baby tomatoes!! Woooooo! Woop! Woop! And I saw bees landing on the flowers! WOOOOOO!!!!

a barely visible baby cherry tomato lmao

Oh yeah, I also got some little solar powered path lights from walmart really cheap and put them in my bed. I kind of want to visit this evening just to make sure they work. I don't go too late usually but now I have a little more wiggle room with dusk. All for the price of Two Whole Dollars. Thanks, walmart.

I'm a little worried about the plants staying watered while I'm on the cruise in 2 weeks. Kayla said she can help out if I ask, I'm just shhyyyyy. Maybe I can bribe Rachael or Nancy into helping me... gah. No, I should just ask Kayla. Closer to the dates though, so she won't have to remember too much. a vague overview of the plot. look, nothing is discernible but a swathe of green!