End of season blues

IDK I love fall. I love fall more than the average person, likely. It's a popular season to like, but damn. I go a little nuts, in a good way I think. BUT. Now I'm sad that my gardening is winding down. I have wildflowers blooming behind my marigolds and such and that's exciting, plus I got to harvest a few cucumbers and tomatoes in the last couple weeks, but it's definitely winding down. No new tomato flowers, plus two of the plants are dead or mostly dead. Next year will be better because I can time things better and not struggle so much with a lack of light, but I'm still sad. AND the mosquitoes are still trying to eat me alive. Die already! I'm sick of y'all! My legs look diseased!

All that being said, it's about time I plant some fall crops. I have seeds for Japanese scallions, leeks, spinach, arugula, and lettuce. I tried seed starting them inside but it didn't really work out. I'm just gonna direct plant them and see what happens. I have some volunteer garlic and potatoes growing in the plot I cleared out, the one with the Big Dill. At the bare minimum, I have that going lol. Oh, and I'll plant some pansies and violas. Edible flowers, yes, but also I just like having flowers even when there aren't as many pollinators to support.

As stuff grows slower, I SHOULD clear out the remaining overgrown beds, but... effort. To be fair, I've been either working extra or sick from working extra.