Singer Spartan, revisted

I got this machine over a year ago, when I still lived with my former best friend... I put off doing this one because I had intended it for her. It's a really neat machine, baggage aside! The Singer Spartan, or 192k, was Singer's answer to cheap Japanese-made machines flooding the market in the US back in the 1950s-1960s. It was made to be economical but durable, so its features are rather barebones but it's reliable as HECK. In practice, it's a cast iron machine reminiscent of older machines and rather easy to work with.

This particular machine is in relatively good shape, but definitely dirty. When I got it a year ago, I did replace the motor belt. The original crumbled at the touch. Fortunately, that part is easy and cheap to replace. It didn't come with its cabinet and the paint is chipped in several pieces, but the key components are all there. I did not check electrical, partially because I need to wrap the light cord with some electrical tape first. Of course, the insulation came off riiiight by where it enters the light.

In the intervening year, this machine sat in my partner's former bedroom closet, which has since had a bit of a rat problem. Thus the first thing I did once getting set up was wiping this thing down with disinfectant wipes. I didn't see any sign of rat damage, but I'm not taking any chances here. I've never had an issue with these wipes and sewing machine paint before, but I did spot test first, so don't worry. I put oil in the oil holes on the top, then started removing the needle, presser foot, etc. to get to the bits that needed oil and cleaning. There was a TON of old dust and lint in there!! It was so satisfying to pull out, but admittedly I did take my aquarium tweezers to it to get clumps of lint out from under the feet dogs and bobbin hook. A lot of blue creeper was used to get gunk out, but fortunately due to the complete lack of gears to worry about, there wasn't old grease to clear out! Just some old, dried up oil which in my opinion is far less disgusting.

I had to stop after cleaning and oiling and didn't get the bobbin cover plate or needle back on yet, but I'm really satisfied with how it's going. Hopefully, I can motivate myself to test this machine's sewing and electrical tomorrow. It always makes me so nervous! I also need to do a sewing test on the "National" (15-91 dupe) now I think I have the tension assembly fixed. Hopefully. I really hope it's fixed because damn I hate putting those back together.